Lordsburg Bubble for Autism Event

The Lordsburg Elks Lodge participated in the annual Bubble for Autism event in Lordsburg on April 23, 2022, serving more than 100 hotdogs to children and youth attending the awareness event. April is Autism Awareness Month and efforts are made to celebrate and promote acceptance for the condition that occurs in one in every 54 children in the United States. The Lordsburg Elks Lodge not only served hotdogs and drinks to those in attendance, but also made a cash donation to organizers of the event to be used for autism research. The event was held at Veterans Memorial Park in Lordsburg. Pictured are PER/Trustee Julie Montenegro, Stephanie Helbig, Secretary Brenda Hood (and Sebastien Gregston) and Loyal Knight Sundi Hendrix.

Lordsburg Elks Lodge #1813

PO Box 417

Lordsburg, NM 88045

El Paso Visit

El Paso 187 held the NMEA President’s Official visit on August 20th.  During his official visit he witnessed the hard work and dedication of 187 to the community of El Paso as they distributed over $27,000 worth of toiletry items to 23 different organizations within El Paso.  It is extremely impressive to know that out of that $27,000, over $22,000 was donated by the lodge members and participating entities within the community, which is both amazing and wonderful.
On Friday, August 20th, President Hilliard also had the honor of being present for the 130th birthday celebration of El Paso Elks Lodge 187.

Pictured is the Lodge Secretary Cheryl Kelly, Johnny Hilliard and ER Ray Pena.

Tucumcari VP Visit

Joe Dominguez, Vp Andrew Housley, ER Daniel Zamora and Joe’s 55 Bellaire at the Tucumcari 1172 CP Golf tournament

Raton Visit

Officers and members of Raton Lodge 865 greet President Elect Jerry Hitchcock and his wife Carol during his official visit

Silver City Visit

NMEA President Johnny Hilliard’s official visit to Silver City Elks Lodge 413. 
Pictured is President Hilliard, ER Andrew Housley and SW DD Glenda Greene.

NMEA VP Alb Visit

NMEA VP Andrew Housley recently visited Albuquerque. Lodge 461 has a tradition of taking the visiting VP to the Isotopes baseball game. President Johnny Hilliard was also in attendance.

Las Vegas Presentation

Exalted Ruler Frank Roybal presents a Elk painting crafted by Anna Martinez to NMEA President Elect Jerry Hitchcock During his official visit to Las Vegas Lodge 408.

Silver City Flag Day.

Silver City Exalted Ruler and NMEA Vice President Andrew Housley and son Lance Corporal Caleb Housley.

Silver City Flag Day.

Lance Corporal Housley and the Gaffney Oglesby Marine League 1328.

Retiring Old Glory

In observance of Flag Day, Lordsburg Elks Lodge #1813 retired hundreds of old, faded and tattered Old Glories in a special ceremony at the lodge. Flags that are tattered and faded are no longer appropriate to fly, so they are periodically collected and replaced, and the old flags are destroyed in a patriotic ritual containing prayers and dedications. The event is typically an annual one, but the pandemic created a long delay. Pictured above participating in the event are David Whitmore, Julie Montenegro, Audrey Stewart, Thomas Hood and Louis Montenegro.

Elks Donation

Elk of the Year

NMEA President Elect Jerry Hitchcock presents the New Mexico Elks Association Elk of the year plaque to Aaron Ballew for his outstanding work in chairing the C/B Trust Committee. His dedication in keeping this committee working throughout the pandemic shows his dedication to the New Mexico Elks association. He is truly a good Elk.

Lordsburg Students recognized for Patriotism.

DTMS students recognized for dedication to patriotism. Alani Eugenio and Leila Gonzalez, students at Dugan-Tarango Middle School were recently recognized by the Lordsburg Elks Lodge’s Americanism program for their care and consideration of the American flag. Alani and Eugenio have been volunteering each day to raise, lower and properly fold the American flag. The girls even asked to be dismissed during class to bring in the flag during a rainstorm. The local Elks Lodge has kicked off an “Americanism Superstar” program in which local individuals, organizations and businesses will be recognized for their patriotic spirit while following proper flag etiquette.  Pictured at left are Julie Montenegro, Lordsburg Elks President and Americanism Chair, Leila Gonzalez, Alani Eugenio and Principal Ralph Almanzar.